The Final two events of the SSW Winter Series have been cancelled due to the Coronavirus outbreak. 


Thanks for your support and we look forward to the 20-21 season.

SSW Winter Series

2019-2020 Season

The SSW Winter Series has now concluded for 2019/20.  Congratulations to winner Simon Hawkes (K1), 2nd place Chris Hampe (Int. Canoe) and 3rd place Ben Hawkes (Contender).


The SSW Winter Series features 10 more pursuit races based at clubs all around the South West region of the UK. 


The events take place between October and March, giving sailors access to fun and competitive dinghy sailing during the winter season.  For more information, including series rules and qualification criteria, please see our Series NOR.

The 2019-20 Events

Porthpean Pursuit

Porthpean SC

9th November 2019


Penzance SC

10th November 2019



23rd November 2019

Christmas Cracker

Paignton SC

1st December 2019

Starcross Steamer

Starcross YC

19th January 2020

Sutton Bingham Icicle

Sutton Bingham SC

25th January 2020

Roadford Rocket

Roadford Lake SC

28th March 2020


Portishead Y&SC

16th February 2020


Wimbleball SC

15th March 2020


Royal Torbay YC

21st March 2020

2019-20 Series Results


SSW Winter Series Club Championship is sponsored by:

SSW Club Championship

Can your club become the first SSW Winter Series Club Champions?


New for 2019-20 SSW Winter Series, the Club Championship sponsored by CPMR awards points to teams of 3 or more boats (consisting of at least 2 different classes) who compete in series races. 

Club teams can score points at each of the 10 races in the SSW Winter Series, with the overall winners announced after the final race at the series prize giving.  


1st Place - Penzance SC (£300)

2nd Place North Devon YC (£125)

3rd Place - Brixham YC (£75)


Any sailor from any club can take part, so spread the word, grab your club mates and get to as many races as possible to win big prizes!  


Win a Fully Customised Launching Trolley

Each time you race in the SSW Winter Series Events, you are entered into an Admiral Trailers Prize Draw to win a fully customised launching trolley!

There will be 3 prize draws for a launching trolley throughout the series:


Draw 1: 23rd November @NDYC 

Draw 2: 25th January @ Sutton Bingham SC  

Draw 3: Series Prize Giving @ RTYC (TBC)

(If any events are postponed or cancelled, SSW reserve the right to change the dates and locations of prize draws)


Allen are sailing equipment suppliers.  Allen have kindly donated event and special performance prizes for each of the 10 races in the SSW Winter Series 2018-19.

TracAce are providing discounted GPS tracking for each of the SSW Winter Series events, providing access to this technology for a fraction of the market price.

Admiral Trailers are running three special prize draws throughout the series.  Winners of each draw will get a custom built Admiral Trailers launching trolley (see terms and conditions)


We're always interested to hear from potential new sponsors and supporters of the SSW Winter Series. If you would like to know more about current and future opportunities, please get in touch.

Send us Your Feedback

Have you sailed in any of the SSW Winter Series?

Do you have any suggestions or ideas?

We would love to hear your feedback, thoughts and comments about the SSW Winter Series.


SSW Winter Series Past Results

2018-19 Winners Ben & Simon Hawkes

2017-18 Winners, Tim & Sarah Parsons

SSW Winter Series 2018-19 Top 5:

1st - Ben Hawkes & Simon Hawkes (Castle Cove SC) - Osprey

2nd - Ben Flower (Hayling Island SC) - Laser

3rd - Chris Dyer (NDYC) - Blaze

4th - Stacey Bray (Porthpean SC) - D-Zero

5th - Chris Jones (Sutton Bingham SC) - RS Aero 7

SSW Winter Series 2017-18 Top 5:

1st - Tim & Sarah Parsons (Lyme Regis SC) - Scorpion

2nd - Sam & Lianne Thompson (RNSA) - Merlin Rocket

3rd - Ben Flower (Poly Steps Quay) - Laser

4th - Simon Hawkes (Castle Cove SC) - Phantom

5th - Hugh Kingdon (North Devon YC) - Blaze

1st Junior - Noah Rees (Torpoint Mosquito SC) - RS Aero 7 (9th Overall)

SSW Lakes Mini Series (Roadford Rocket, SB Icicle & Exmoor Beastie)

1st - Steve Cockerill (Stokes Bay SC) - RS Aero 7

2nd - Simon Hawkes (Castle Cove SC) - Phantom

3rd - Nick Orman (Castle Cove SC) - Phantom